RPN Singh and Sudhanshu Trivedi Among BJP’s Rajya Sabha Election Nominees


GG News Bureau
New Delhi, 12th Feb. 
The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has released its list of candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections set to be held on February 27, with votes for the 56 seats across 15 states slated to be counted the same day.

In a strategic move, the party nominated RPN Singh, a former Congress leader who joined the BJP in 2022, as a candidate from Uttar Pradesh. Joining Singh from UP are Sudhanshu Trivedi, Chaudhary Tejveer Singh, Sadhna Singh, Amarpal Maurya, Sangita Balwant, and Navin Jain. The state, with the highest number of vacancies at 10 seats, showcases a diverse representation of castes including Kurmi, Brahmin, Nishad, Jain, Rajput, Maurya, and Jat communities.

Interestingly, among the nine outgoing BJP MPs from Uttar Pradesh, including Anil Jain, Anil Agrawal, and G V L Narasimha Rao, only Sudhanshu Trivedi has been renominated.

In Bihar, where the BJP is in alliance with Nitish Kumar’s JDU, the party has named Dharmsheela Gupta and Bhim Singh for the six available seats. Notably absent from the list is Sushil Kumar Modi, who has extended congratulations to the two nominated candidates.

In Chhattisgarh, the BJP has fielded Raja Devendra Pratap Singh, hailing from the erstwhile Gond royal family, replacing Saroj Pandey.
Other notable candidates include Subhash Barala, former state chief of Haryana; Narayana Krishanasa Bhandage from Karnataka; Mahendra Bhatt from Uttarakhand; and Samik Bhattacharya from Bengal.

Candidates from Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, and Maharashtra are yet to be announced by the BJP.

Several Union ministers, including Mansukh Mandaviya, Parshottam Rupala, Dharmendra Pradhan, L Murugan, and Narayan Rane, are among those retiring from the House, with a total of 58 Rajya Sabha members, including eight Central Ministers, scheduled to retire by the first week of May. The retirees include members from various political parties, adding to the anticipation surrounding the upcoming elections.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.