Impact of Uttar Pradesh’s Bhumihar Community in the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections

GG News Bureau
Ghaziabad, 8th June.
 The results of the Lok Sabha elections 2024 are out. The NDA, led by the Bharatiya Janata Party, has secured a majority with victories in 293 seats. On the other hand, the India Alliance has won 233 seats. Contrary to the predictions of all exit polls, while the NDA’s seats have decreased, those of the India Alliance have increased. This time, 208 seats have shifted from the ruling party’s control to the opposition parties, compared to 178 seats in 2019.

In the 2024 elections, 41 seats that were previously held by the BJP have now gone to the Congress. Additionally, 47 seats that were under BJP’s control have been won by non-Congress parties in the India Alliance. Furthermore, 9 seats have shifted from the Congress to the BJP. 88 seats have moved from the BJP to other parties in the Congress and India Alliance coalition. While the BJP claimed over 400 seats, they have only managed to secure around 240.

In Uttar Pradesh, several seats have seen significant losses for the BJP due to the efforts of R.N.D. Supreme Shrikant Tyagi, founder and national president of the National Reconstruction Party. In the by-elections of 2022 in Vidhan Sabha-Khatoli Janpad-Muzaffarnagar Uttar Pradesh, Tyagi campaigned against the BJP, rallying support from the Tyagi Bhumihar community against BJP candidate Rajkumari Saini, who lost the election with 22,143 votes. In the general Lok Sabha elections of 2024, Shrikant Tyagi continued his campaign against the BJP across Uttar Pradesh, receiving full support from the Tyagi Bhumihar community, leading to significant losses for the BJP in 26 Lok Sabha seats from west to east Uttar Pradesh, including Gautam Buddha Nagar, Ghaziabad, Baghpat, Meerut, Muzaffarnagar, Saharanpur, Nagina, Kairana, Bijnor, Bulandshahr, Moradabad, Amroha, Sambhal, Badaun, Agra, Azamgarh, Kushinagar, Shravasti, Ayodhya, Prayagraj, Ballia, Ghazipur, Ghosi, Varanasi, Chandauli, and Jaunpur.

The election results clearly show that the BJP did not receive the vote of the Tyagi Bhumihar community. Instead, the Tyagi Bhumihar community supported the India Alliance by backing the campaign led by R.N.D. Supreme Shrikant Tyagi, resulting in BJP’s defeat on 16 seats, while the remaining 10 seats were won due to the transfer of votes from the Bahujan Samaj Party to the BJP. It is evident that the Tyagi Bhumihar community’s vote did not go to the BJP, but rather to the India Alliance candidate in large numbers.

It’s worth noting that out of the 10 seats won by the BJP in these circumstances, one is Merath, where the BJP organization intelligently managed to secure victory for Arun Govil, who played the role of Lord Rama in the Ramayana series, by distributing the votes of the Tyagi Bhumihar community, who numbered around 230,000 on that seat. Additionally, the Tyagi Bhumihar community, with a population of around 6.5 million in western Uttar Pradesh and around 5.7 million in Purvanchal, constitutes a sufficient number to influence electoral outcomes.

In Uttar Pradesh, R.N.D. Supreme Shrikant Tyagi is considered as the younger brother of the people, which is why his revolutionary demeanor, fearless nature, and continuous involvement in the joys and sorrows of his community and party workers are significant factors.

In the upcoming general assembly elections in 2027, Shrikant Tyagi could emerge as a kingmaker in Uttar Pradesh politics.

Comments are closed.