Himanta Biswa Sarma Sworn in as 15th Chief Minister of Assam

GG News Bureau

Guwahati, 10th May. BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma has been sworn in as the Chief Minister of Assam today. He sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam.

Governor Jagdish Mukhi administered the oath of Chief Minister and confidentiality to Himanta Biswa Sarma at 12 o’clock in the day on Monday at Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra.

Apart from Chief Minister Sarma, other ministers are also taking oath. The swearing-in ceremony is also attended by BJP National President JP Nadda and many other senior leaders.

Himanta Biswa Sarma took Bhagwati’s blessings before taking oath. Sarma reached the Kamakhya Temple and Dole Govind Temple and offered prayers.

Earlier in the Legislature Party meeting, former Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal put forward Sarma’s name, which was agreed by all the MLAs. After that, Sarma met Governor Jagdish Mukhi at Raj Bhavan on Sunday to stake claim to form the government in Assam.

Himanta Biswa Sarma is a renowned politician who is 6 times MLA. In his political career he has defeated many such as big leader of AGP Bhrigu Phukan. He quit the Congress party in 2014 and joined BJP after a rift with the former Congress President Rahul Gandhi. He also had political differences with Tarun Gogoi.

Comments are closed.