Telangana Elections: 2,290 Candidates Contesting, 608 Withdraw Nominations


GG News Bureau

Hyderabad, 16th Nov. A total of 2,290 candidates are competing in the upcoming Assembly elections in Telangana, after 608 candidates withdrew their nominations, according to the office of the Chief Electoral Officer.

Among the candidates, 44 are from Gajwel and 39 are from Kamareddy Assembly constituencies, where BRS president and Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao is contesting.

Most candidates, 48, are from the L B Nagar segment, while the Banswada and Narayanpet seats have the fewest candidates, with only 7 each.

Several leaders from the Congress and other major parties, who initially filed nominations as independents after failing to secure party tickets, have now withdrawn in support of official candidates.

The deadline for withdrawal of candidature was Wednesday.

During the scrutiny process, election officials deemed 2,898 nominations valid and rejected 606 nominations.

As of now, Telangana has over 3.26 crore eligible voters, with an almost equal number of males and females.

The Serilingampally segment has the highest number of voters, with over 7.32 lakh, while Bhadrachalam has the lowest, with 1.49 lakh electors.

Polling for the 119-member Assembly will take place on November 30, with vote counting scheduled for December 3.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.