Sports Minister Anurag Thakur Kicks Off 1st BIMSTEC Aquatics Championships


GG News Bureau
New Delhi, 6th Feb. 
Union Minister for Youth Affairs and Sports Anurag Singh Thakur inaugurated the inaugural BIMSTEC Aquatics Championships 2024 today in New Delhi. This marks the first time that the BIMSTEC Aquatics Championships is being held.

Addressing the gathering, Shri Anurag Singh Thakur emphasized the significance of the South Asian and Southeast Asian regions, where a quarter of the world’s population resides. He highlighted the importance of collaboration among the seven BIMSTEC countries, stating that it not only transforms the Bay of Bengal area into a hub for travel and transportation but also fosters progress and development.

“This event will not only deepen friendships but also promote a stronger sporting culture, in line with the vision of our honorable Prime Minister,” stated the Union Minister, referring to the announcement made by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi during the 4th BIMSTEC Summit in 2018.

Originally slated for 2021, the BIMSTEC Youth Water Sports competition was postponed to 2024 due to the global COVID-19 pandemic. The ongoing Aquatics Championships mark the organization’s first-ever sports competition, hosted in India.

Accompanying the Union Sports Minister at the opening ceremony were Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Nepal, Sh. Dig Bahadur Limbu, and Sh. Indra Mani Pandey, Secretary General of BIMSTEC High Commissioners & Ambassadors to India, alongside dignitaries from member countries and the Indian government.

The championship, taking place at Delhi’s Dr. Syama Prasad Mookerjee Swimming Pool Complex from February 6th to 9th, 2024, features competitions in Swimming, Water Polo, and Diving events under the Under-20 age category.

A total of 39 medals and 9 trophies will be awarded across the events, with over 500 personnel expected to attend, including 268 athletes representing various BIMSTEC member countries.

BIMSTEC, known as the Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation, serves as a vital link between South and Southeast Asian nations, comprising five South Asian members (Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, and Sri Lanka) and two Southeast Asian members (Myanmar & Thailand).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.