Imran Khan backed candidates won 102 seats, PML-N gets 75 seats


Anjali Sharma

GG News Bureau
According to the media reports on Sunday former Prime Minister Imran Khan’s PTI has the won majority of seats although Nawaz Sharif’s PML-N has the backing of Pakistani Army.

The counting of votes for Pakistan National Assembly elections 2024 has concluded on Sunday with Imran Khan’s PTI-backed independents emerged as the winner with 102 seats.

Former prime minister Nawaz Sharif-led PML-N was hoping for a clear victory, could manage to win only 75 seats after PTI allegations of rigging in counting of votes.

The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) won 54 seats, while 17 national assembly seats went to MQM-P.

Imran Khan’s party PTI declared the victory.

Imran Khan-PTI had fielded independent candidates after the Pakistan Election Commission suspended his cricket bat symbol days before polls.

Khan has the most number of independents. Sharif has the backing of Pakistani Army, which plays a significant role in deciding who will form the government of Pakistan.

Technicalities are in favour of Nawaz as PML-N is the single largest party since Khan’s candidates were not associated with PTI or any other political outfit and contested as independents.

According to Pakistan rules, independents will have three days time to extend their support to political party or form their own group.

Nawaz Sharif’s brother and PML-N Central President Shehbaz Sharif has met PPP’s Asif Ali Zardari and Bilawal Bhutto Zardari to form an alliance government.

PML-N and PPP’s combined seat tally is 129, which is more than the current strength of PTI-backed independents.

Pakistani Army Chief Asim Munir has said that a Pakistan’s interest will be well represented by a unified government.

PTI chairman Gohar Ali Khan has said that people’s mandate is in favor of them and all “institutions” should respect that.

He claimed that President Sirf Alvi will invite his party to form the government and that Imran Khan, who is currently lodged in jail, would decide the next prime minister of Pakistan.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.