Four-time Chief Minister of Karnataka BS Yeddyurappa tenders his resignation

GG News Bureau
Bangaluru, 26th July. Four-time Chief Minister of Karnataka BS Yeddyurappa has resigned amid speculation of a leadership change. He has submitted his resignation to Governor Thaawar Chandra Gehlot.
BS Yediyurappa will continue till the new CM is appointed. For the past several weeks, the speculations of the ouster of Yeddyurappa being and he handing over the chief minister’s command to someone else were rife which that have been proven true on Monday.
Yediyurappa announced his resignation at a function organised to mark the completion of 2 years of his government. After submitting his resignation to the Governor, he said there was no pressure on him from the high command. No one pressured me to resign, Yediyurappa said. I took this decision myself so that after the completion of 2 years of the Government, someone else could take over as chief minister. I will work to bring the BJP back to power in the next election. I am grateful to PM Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP President JP Nadda for giving a chance to serve Karnataka for two years.
Karnataka Governor Thaawar Chand Gehlot has accepted CM BS Yeddyurappa’s resignation and asked him to continue as acting CM till the next CM is sworn in.
The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has started its exercise on the selection of his successor.
Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP President J P Nadda reportedly held a meeting at parliament house premises on Monday to discuss the issue.
According to the sources BJP will decide the names of its two central observers and both will visit Bengaluru and attend a meeting of the legislature party where the name of the new leader will be decided.
Yediyurappa comes from the influential Lingayat community of Karnataka. Tand BJP is considered the selection of the leader from the Lingayat community itself as the next chief minister.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.