Chief of the Delhi Congress, Arvinder Singh Lovely, steps down from his position


GG News Bureau
New Delhi, 28th April.
Arvinder Singh Lovely, the Chief of the Delhi Congress, resigned from his position as party leader on Sunday, April 28, citing disapproval of the Congress’ choice to form an alliance with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) for the Lok Sabha elections.

In the nation’s capital, the Congress and the AAP made the decision to unite in anticipation of the elections. The AAP would run for four seats, while the Congress would compete for three.

The Delhi Congress unit was against an alliance with a party (AAP) which was created on the sole basis of leveling false, fraudulent, and malafide corruption claims against the Congress party, Lovely wrote in a letter to Congress national president Mallikarjun Kharge.

The party still chose to form an alliance with the AAP in Delhi.”

Last year, Lovely became the head of the Delhi Cong.

In 2023, Lovely was named the Delhi Cong leader. Lovely wrote to Kharge claiming that the AICC General Secretary (Delhi In-charge) had unilaterally vetoed every consensual decision made by the Senior Delhi Congress leaders.

“I have not been permitted to appoint myself to any top positions within the DPCC since I was appointed President of the party by the AICC General Secretary (Delhi In-charge). My desire to have a seasoned leader take over as the DPCC’s media head was flatly turned down. The Delhi In-charge of the AICC, the General Secretary, has not yet permitted the DPCC to name every Block president in the city.

As a result, there are currently over 150 blocks in Delhi without a Block President,” he continued.

“…On instructions from the AICC General Secretary (Organisation), I even went to the extent of visiting Kejriwal’s residence on the night of his arrest along with Subash Chopra and Sandeep Dikshit, despite the same being against my position on the matter,” Lovely continued.

Delhi will cast ballots on May 25.

The sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections, which takes place on May 25, will see voting in all seven Lok Sabha seats located in Delhi. New Delhi, Chandni Chowk, East Delhi, North East Delhi, North West Delhi, West Delhi, and South Delhi are the seven seats of the nation’s capital. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the INDIA alliance (Congress and AAP) are the front-runners this time around.

In response to Lovely’s resignation, the BJP

“Not everything in the Congress is going well. Party leaders at the grassroots level are tired of this… It appears that the Congress is running for office by reaching a settlement with the same persons who they used to accuse of corruption up until yesterday. How is it possible? BJP leader RP Singh told the news outlet ANI, “It is evident that people are feeling oppressed there, which is why they are resigning.”

Shehzad Poonawalla, the leader of the BJP, said that the Congress could not hold onto its leaders “because its own leaders are showing the mirror to Congress for its hypocrisy…”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.