Bypolls Scheduled Across 7 States: Election Commission Announces


GG News Bureau
New Delhi, 10th June. 
The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Monday declared the scheduling of by-elections on 13 vacated assembly seats across 7 states. These bypolls are slated to take place on July 10, with the counting of votes scheduled for July 13.

Here’s the schedule:

  • Notification Issued: June 14
  • Nomination Filing Deadline: June 21
  • Nomination Scrutiny: June 24
  • Candidature Withdrawal Deadline: June 26
  • Polling Date: July 10
  • Results Declaration: July 13

The constituencies slated for bypolls include:

  • Bihar: Rupauli (vacated due to the resignation of Bima Bharti)
  • West Bengal: Raiganj, Ranaghat Dakshin, Bagda, Maniktala (vacated due to resignations or death of incumbents)
  • Tamil Nadu: Vikravandi (vacated due to the death of Thiru. N. Pugazhenthi)
  • Madhya Pradesh: Amarwara (vacated due to the resignation of Shri Kamlesh Pratap Shah)
  • Uttarakhand: Badrinath, Manglaur (vacated due to resignations or death of incumbents)
  • Punjab: Jalandhar West (vacated due to the resignation of Shri Sheetal Angura)
  • Himachal Pradesh: Dehra, Hamirpur, Nalagarh (vacated due to resignations of incumbents)

These bypolls are necessitated by the deaths or resignations of the incumbent members. The Election Commission has enforced the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) immediately in the districts where the respective assembly constituencies fall. The Commission has emphasized that the bypolls must be concluded before July 15.

Leave A Reply