BJP Wins Eight Rajya Sabha Seats in Uttar Pradesh, SP Gets Two


GG News Bureau
New Delhi, 28th Feb.
The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured victory in eight out of the ten Rajya Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, with the remaining two seats being claimed by the Samajwadi Party (SP).

The voting process for the 10 Rajya Sabha seats commenced at 9 am on Tuesday. While the BJP had put forward eight candidates, the Samajwadi Party (SP) fielded three. Initially, both parties had the numerical strength to ensure the unopposed election of seven BJP members and three from the SP. However, with the BJP fielding an additional candidate, a competitive contest arose for one of the seats.

In the 403-member state assembly, the BJP holds 252 seats, while the SP commands 108 seats. The Congress, in alliance with the SP, possesses two seats.

Additionally, BJP’s ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) holds 13 seats, NISHAD Party six, RLD nine, SBSP six, Jansatta Dal Loktantrik two, and BSP one, with four seats currently vacant.

The seven other BJP candidates included former Union minister RPN Singh, ex-MP Chaudhary Tejveer Singh, Amarpal Maurya (general secretary of the party’s Uttar Pradesh unit), former state minister Sangeeta Balwant (Bind), party spokesperson Sudhanshu Trivedi, former MLA Sadhna Singh, and former Agra mayor Naveen Jain.

Meanwhile, the Samajwadi Party nominated actor-MP Jaya Bachchan, retired IAS officer Alok Ranjan, and Dalit leader Ramji Lal Suman.
To secure a Rajya Sabha seat from Uttar Pradesh, a candidate requires approximately 37 first-preference votes.

The polling, conducted from 9 am to 4 pm, was followed by counting, which commenced at 5 pm. Results are expected to be announced later on Tuesday night, as per earlier statements by officials.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath took to social media to extend his heartfelt congratulations to all the victorious BJP candidates. He expressed unwavering confidence in their ability to contribute towards the realization of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s vision for an inclusive and developed India.

Echoing similar sentiments, Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya also extended his congratulations, acknowledging the stellar performance of all eight BJP candidates along with the two successful SP candidates.

The news of the BJP’s sweeping victory sparked joyous celebrations in Lucknow, as Uttar Pradesh BJP leaders and workers rejoiced over the triumph in securing 8 out of the 10 Rajya Sabha seats allotted to the state.

Here are the vote tallies for the victorious candidates:
• Sudhanshu Trivedi: 38 votes
• Arpenn Singh: 37 votes
• Tejveer Singh: 38 votes
• Navin Jain: 38 votes
• Ramji Lal: 37 votes
• Sadhna Singh: 38 votes
• Sangita Balwant: 38 votes
• Amar Pal Maurya: 38 votes
• Alok Ranjan: 19 votes
• Jaya Bachchan: 41 votes

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.