VP Naidu advocates 22 languages in Rajya Sabha addresses in 10



Kumar Rakesh, New Delhi: Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu today spoke in ten languages in the House, setting a record of sorts.

He spoke, though briefly, in Bangla, Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil and Telugu to inform the members that Simultaneous Interpretation Service has now been made available for the members to speak in any of the 22 languages listed in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution.

At the behest of Chairman Naidu who is an ardent advocate of speaking in mother tongue, Rajya Sabha Secretariat has made available interpretation facility for five more languages Dogri, Kashmiri, Konkani, Sindhi and Santhali.

For the other 17 languages, Rajya Sabha already has Interpreters for 12 languages and Interpreters of Lok Sabha are made available for five other languages.

Naidu informed the members of the new Interpretation Service during the Zero Hour today.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.