Monsoon session start smooth, with two bill passed on day one


Kumar Rakesh, New Delhi: Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu thanked and complimented leaders of various parties in the House as the Upper House today transacted full Question Hour after a long time on the first day of Monsoon Session. He conveyed his happiness at a meeting with leaders soon after the House was adjourned for lunch on the first day. Naidu expressed the hope that this positive momentum will continue throughout the session period.

During the post lunch session, the House approved two Bills viz., The State Banks (Repeal and Amendment) Bill and The Requisitioning and Acquisition of Immovable Property (Amendment) Bill.

During the last two sessions the Winter Session of last year and the Budget Session of this year, Rajya Sabha had a total of 43 sittings but the Upper House could take up Question Hour only on six days. During this year’s Budget Session, the House could take up Question Hour only on one day out of the total 30 sittings. During the Winter Session last year, Question Hour was taken up only on five days out of the total 13 sittings.

Venkaiah Naidu going for day one of monsoon session

Indications of a productive Monsoon Session that began today further brightened with the opposition leaders and the Government agreeing on a detailed discussion on the persistent demand of TDP for proper implementation of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act and the promises made to the State. This was agreed upon at a meeting convened by Chairman Venkaiah Naidu with all sections of the House soon after he adjourned the House for lunch today.

In yet another positive indication, all sections of the House agreed to take up nine Bills proposed by the Government to start with.

Earlier in the day, Venkaiah Naidu held a meeting with all the six Panel Chairpersons of Rajya Sabha and urged them to share the workload of presiding over the House till a Deputy Chairperson is elected.  He urged them to plan their day so as to be available to chair the proceedings as per the roster.

All the Panel  Chairpersons Satyanarayan Jatia (BJP), Bhubaneshwar Kalita(Congress), Sukhendu Sekhar Ray (TMC) , Tiruchi Siva(DMK), T.K. Rangarajan (CPM) and Kahkashan Parveen (JDU) attended the meeting.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.