Imran’s swearing-in kept simple no foreign heads invited


Islamabad,Pakistan: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) confirmed that no foreign dignitaries have been invited for the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister-in-waiting, Imran Khan. “We will not invite any foreign dignitaries,” Geo News quoted PTI spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry, as saying.

Earlier it was said that leaders of SAARC countries including Narendra Modi could attend the swearing in ceremony of Imran Khan.
But as per Chaudhry, Khan has decided to keep the ceremony ‘extremely simple’ and not ‘ostentatious’, and will be a ‘purely national event’.
However, the PTI spokesperson said only selected friends of Khan have been invited to the swearing-in, such as former Indian cricketers Sunil Gavaskar and Navjot Singh Sidhu, and actor Aamir Khan.
Khan will be the 20th Prime Minister of Pakistan and the swearing-in ceremony will be held at President’s House in Islamabad.
On Wednesday, Chaudhry, while addressing the media, said the party has asked the Foreign Office (FO) to inform it whether foreign heads of state, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, could be invited for the August 11 event, the Dawn reported.
However, the response from the FO in the matter is still awaited.
According to figures provided by the Election Commission of Pakistan, the PTI emerged as the single largest party with 115 seats out of the 270 National Assembly constituencies.

(With inputs from ANI)

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.