Congress Forms Core Committee and Poll Panels for Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections

GG News Bureau

New Delhi, 12th Sept. The Congress formed election committees for the Chhattisgarh assembly elections on Monday, with Kumari Selja appointed as convener of the Core Committee and Charan Dass Mahant appointed as chairperson of the electoral Campaign Committee.

Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, President of the Chhattisgarh Congress Deepak Baij, Deputy Chief Minister T S Singh Deo, Tamradhwaj Sahu, and Shiv Kumar Sahariya are also members of the seven-member Core Committee.

“Congress president has approved the proposal for the constitution of the committees for ensuing assembly elections in Chhattisgarh with immediate effect,” an official communication from the party said.

Chief Minister Baghel, his deputy Mr Deo, Tamradhwaj Sahu, Ravinder Chaubey, Mohd Akbar, Shiv Kumar Dahariya, Kawaki Lakhma, Premsai Singh Tekam, and Anila Bhendiya would be among the 74 members of the Election Campaign Committee.

The Committee includes Chhattisgarh ministers Mohan Markam and Umesh Patel, as well as Rajya Sabha members Rajeev Shukla, Ranjeet Ranjan, Phulo Devi Netam, and KTS Tulsi.

The party also formed a 15-member Communications Committee, chaired by Ravindra Choubey, with Rajesh Tiwari and Vinod Verma serving as conveners and Sushil Anand Shukla serving as coordinator.

The party also set up a 25-member Protocol Committee, chaired by Amarjeet Bhagat, convened by Shiv Singh Thakur, and coordinated by Ajay Sahu.

The ruling Congress will strive to retain power in Chhattisgarh for the second time in a row in assembly elections later this year.

Comments are closed.