Harivansh Singh elected as RS Deputy Chairman

New Delhi: NDA candidate and JD(U) member Harivansh Narayan Singh on Thursday was elected as Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman, defeating opposition’s B K Hariprasad.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu initiated the process of the election by calling for division of votes in the House.

While Harivansh Narayan Singh secured 125 votes, Congress nominee Hariprasad got 105.

The post of Rajya Sabha deputy chairman has been lying vacant since the retirement of P J Kurien on July 1.

Leader of the House Arun Jaitley, who is recovering from a kidney ailment, attended the proceedings after a long gap.

(With inputs from PTI)

(Photo Credit: Tribune India)

Please Share this Post if you like !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *